SAM_0031

Hi there my lovlies

just a short post about making rag rugs. I got interested in these a few years ago when I was lucky enough to go on a rag rug making course with Jenni Stuart Anderson in Shropshire. A fantastic weekend and it inspired me to make this one of a mermaid. Rag rugs are made using half to one inch width of fabric pulled through a hessian cloth with a prodder or a rug hook. They take a real massive ammount of fabric  but are quite fun to make. The above rug has never really been finished off properly . I made it by drawing an outline onto the hessian first. I actually used a punch hook which I got from an antique shop and I found this easier to use. I think I punched the material upwards from underneath to the surface of the hessian creating small loops. I made a few rugs but havent done any for a long while yet but who knows maybe I will have a go again and try to really design one beforehand and do it all in a more organised way. Anyway what have you all been up to recently? do let me know so I can visit your bloggs to seexx

Bye for now

pippaxx

About pippamoore1961

I love to knit sew and craft, paint papier mache and explore my creativity. Jogging alongside me each day are my two spaniels poppy and smudge and our small kitten mumpo, i'm married and have three grown up children. I love to do all this whilst listening to radio three but occaqssionaly radio four , i also love all music from the sixties and seventies, in my mind everything went downhill after that!! however that;s just a personal opinion.

all comments are greatly appreeciated and i will reply to everyonexx

