Image

Hi Honeybees

Mr. M  has been busy these last few weeks out in the garden. He loves growing perennial flowers and I must admit I love looking at them. We’re in agreement on this at least we aren’t really that fond of bedding plants but prefer the oldfashioned perennials that used to adorn the country cottages of years gone by. Unfortunately due to variable weather this year has taken its toll and we haven’t such a show of plants. I think a lot of our hollyhocks were taken by slugs, goodness me they are so annoying. You just get the plants to how you want them to look and pow! they all gone. We do however have some brilliant poppies like the one above. We have two great clumps of them in various states of flower mode.

Actually in Norfolk at this time of year poppies are everywhere to be seen along the sides of fields and there are some spectacular displays of these on the road between Swaffham and Thetford. I would like to photograph some but although is my day off it’s not the kind of day to embark on that kind of project. The clouds have come over and it’s looking like its about to pour with rain.

Anyway back to Mr. M and his garden. He spends most of summer in the garden clipping this and tweaking that. Does have its bonus though it gets him out of my way!! not such a bad thing i’m not complaining.

Well here are a few more little gems from his collection, what do you think of them?? I’m sure he would be pleased to know

Image

Image

SAM_1340 SAM_1343 SAM_1348 SAM_1334

Well the pansies are bedding plants I know but the rest are from left to right Punctata, Alium, and Lettucesxx

Hope you have a lovely day honeybees even though it looks like rain. Celebrate! we are only half way through the year there is much to do yet,

Toodleoops

auntie pippaxx

About pippamoore1961

I love to knit sew and craft, paint papier mache and explore my creativity. Jogging alongside me each day are my two spaniels poppy and smudge and our small kitten mumpo, i'm married and have three grown up children. I love to do all this whilst listening to radio three but occaqssionaly radio four , i also love all music from the sixties and seventies, in my mind everything went downhill after that!! however that;s just a personal opinion.

3 responses »

  1. rosyragpatch says:

    Beautiful! Shame about the slugs, it’s been pretty good weather for them. We think our holly hocks were attacked by pigeons.

  2. Your poppies look fantastic! Mine came and went with the usual predictability – buds for ages, then they all opened at once just in time for heavy rain and a high wind to flatten them and rip all their petals off. I dream of poppies that look like yours!

all comments are greatly appreeciated and i will reply to everyonexx

