Image

We made our annual trip to see the bluebells in Foxley wood Norfolk on thursday afternoon. We had been to Fakenham market in the morning but realized if we didn’t make a trip to Foxley soon we would miss the bluebells. This is difficult to time exactly due to differing weather conditions each year. However I have to say it was the most amazing wood filled to the brim of beautiful bluebells, and the scent was equally gratifying.

As a child we would go somewhere similar every year with our mother. On with the wellies and off we’d go. We would come back laden with bunches of bluebells because in those days you could pick wild flowers and nobody minded.They would adorn every windowsill in the house in jamjars and the like. So it brings back happy mermories of childhood and I just have to go every year to see them.

Back onto the subject of sock monkeys!! well I have been buying socks at a rate of knots and have my dining room table laden with them all ready to be turned into some wonderful creatures. Yesterday I just had to make something before I went to work. I was due at work at four o clock in the afternoon and normally on a friday morning I would be at the library knitting with friends. However because we had been out on thursday we had missed a courier delivery of Miss Annabella’s ! she was awaiting a very important parcel so I duly arranged it for friday morning . I didn’t want to waste what would of been some creative me time, so set about making a doll out of a pair of socks purchased the day before at the market. I bought three pairs for two pounds and only used one pair plus stuffing and scraps of material for the dress and scarf. As I’ve said before I have a multitude of scraps of material waiting to be used and this was the perfect project.

Here’s a picture of little honeybunny, Because I’m a doll fan and always have been I absolutely love her. But I can well understand some people do not like dolls full stop. As a child I used to have mine all lined up across the bedroom floor  and I kept them pristine and hated other children coming around and wrecking them. Yes I was very doll orientated. Anyway have a peek at my new addition she is so cute ,

Image

and here is a close up of her little face

Image

She probably cost about two pounds to  make as I buy my toy stuffing very cheaply in bulk. Anyway I have also made several more sock monkeys and they are much better than my first attempt. Today we are off out later but in the meantime i’m off to do some sewing , who knows what I will end up making?

Toddle oops honey pies

auntie pippaxxx

About pippamoore1961

I love to knit sew and craft, paint papier mache and explore my creativity. Jogging alongside me each day are my two spaniels poppy and smudge and our small kitten mumpo, i'm married and have three grown up children. I love to do all this whilst listening to radio three but occaqssionaly radio four , i also love all music from the sixties and seventies, in my mind everything went downhill after that!! however that;s just a personal opinion.

8 responses »

  1. penfrea says:

    I like the post about the sock monkeys. Reminds me of my granddaughter and how she loves all kinds of little dolls. Thank you also for following!

  2. Sophie Naz says:

    Aww sock monkeys and ragdolls are just so sweet. My mother would sow me little dolls when I was very young. The nostalgia..
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. rosyragpatch says:

    I love the scent of bluebells. I went out to take some photos in the woods last week but I haven’t yet worked out how to transfer them from my phone to my laptop. Oh well!
    Cute sock monkey!

  4. Oh the bluebells are great here at the moment I just love them I need to get the hang of my camera a litttle as what I see through the lens doesn’t transfer as seen!!

  5. Karyl says:

    I like her too and as you know i love dolls. loved my dolls as a girl.

all comments are greatly appreeciated and i will reply to everyonexx

