Sunday afternoon.

Mr, M was working this last sunday and Cecilias husband was on business in Scotland so myself and Cecilia decided to have a craft afternoon. Cecilia was going to show me how to spin wool which is a very long process which requires a lot of patience. I decided to make a sock monkey, something less taxing on the brain and I could do this whilst watching Cecilia spin her wool.

The afternoon progressed and after a leisurely tea we sat down to relax and for some reason the conversation turned to things that frightened us. Cecilia was recalling a holiday we had all gone on in York and we had visited the York dungeons. She was saying how it became real to her and she was really frightened and freaked out by the whole expereince. I said that didn’t bother me in the least but I hated horror films or anything verging on the sinister and I think I might be like this because in the sixties when I grew up every weekend there would be a Hammer Horror film on. We would be visiting one of my mums sisters till late into the night and their I was taking it all in, only about five years old watching these movies. To this day I really dislike any films of this kind. The evening progressed and we continued to chat about what frightened us but just in a light hearted way.

Come ninethirtyish and I thought I had better set off for home and stuffed my sock monkey into a carrier bag and off I went.

The journey from Weasenham to Dereham is approximately twelve miles, however it is dark and windy country lanes all the way. Before the government even got eco friendly and decided to switch off street lights this was already happening in this part of Norfolk. There simply aren’t many of them about and you can pass through villages with only lights from the houses so it’s generally very dark.

Well as I was meandering through the lanes back home I suddenly heard a rustle and it was definately coming from the bag with the sock monkey!!

Image

It suddenly felt very eerie in the car and I could feel my heart beating very loud, . Well you don’t need to tell me I might be a little stupid as sock monkeys do not generally come alive!!! I know this but I suddenly felt very frightened !!! all that talk about horror movies must of gone to my head!! yes I have always had a very expansive imagination.

I can honestly say I was relieved when I finally got back to Dereham, and I left sock monkey in the car for the night , no more trouble from him.

Now there is definately something about this monkey he has such a real little character, i’m sure I had just overdosed on to much talk about frightening things and coupled with a lonely journey along deserted lanes my imagination took over.

I’m loving this little monkey and like always when I make something I like it means there will be several more to follow. Anyway here’s a few more pictures of him and as you’ll see he really does have a little character all of his own.

Happy Tuesday friends

Toddleoops

lots of love

mad auntie pippaxxxxxxxx

Image

Image

Image

About pippamoore1961

I love to knit sew and craft, paint papier mache and explore my creativity. Jogging alongside me each day are my two spaniels poppy and smudge and our small kitten mumpo, i'm married and have three grown up children. I love to do all this whilst listening to radio three but occaqssionaly radio four , i also love all music from the sixties and seventies, in my mind everything went downhill after that!! however that;s just a personal opinion.

4 responses »

  1. cloudcoucou says:

    Hi Pippa, thanks for your comment….great sock monkey! I remember visiting some (very poor) dungeons when I was little and being quite scared…I do like a hammer horror though! If you’re interested in taking part in an ATC have a look on flickr or google and you should be able to find some current ones.

  2. Karyl says:

    he’s cute! thanks for following my blog!

  3. Karyl says:

    i’ve been wanting to make a sock doll. ūüôā

all comments are greatly appreeciated and i will reply to everyonexx

